Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Here you find all frequently asked questions (FAQ) about our games. The questions and answers are divided into different subcategories which you can browse. If you don't see your question answered here, please ask us your question via e-mail.
Please note: Our FAQ area is still under construction.
Some random questions
General Questions - May I own two of the same type of equipment? For example, if I have found a pair of boots for the second time, may I place the equipment marker with the number 2 at will?
No. If a player lands on an exploration tile whose equipment he already has, he receives an experience point instead, which he can use to improve one of his character's traits (Strength, Prowess, Agility, and Charisma). Nobody is allowed to have two of the same type of equipment.
Progress Cards: Commercial Harbor - May I determine which commodity my opponent must give me in exchange for the resource?
Note: The Guardian of Fate belongs to the theme set "Wizards & Dragons", which is part of the Catan Card Game – Expansion Set.
Yes. In this case, you determine both die roll results.
Note: The Grove of Justice belongs to the Age of Enlightenment expansion.
Pirate Fleet - Is it only when building a Pirate Fleet that I can destroy a Fleet from my opponent, or can I do this later too?
Only when building it.
Development Cards – Progress – Road Building - May I use a Road Building card to build 1 road and 1 ship?
Yes. You must build them one after another though. You are not allowed to first build a road via a Road Building card, then build a settlement adjacent to that road by paying the required resources, and finally use the Road Building card once again, this time to build a ship.
A ship is “open” when it is located at the end of a shipping route. As soon as a shipping route connects two settlements (or cities or for Cities & Knights also knights), the shipping route is considered as closed. A ship in a closed shipping route cannot be moved. The same rule applies for roads.
This rule also applies if an opponent builds a settlement on an intersection of your closed shipping route. In this case, your continuous trade route is considered as interrupted; however, the two settlements of the shipping route are still connected, meaning that the shipping route remains closed.
Special Case: If a ship's line starts at a settlement or city and returns to this settlement or city without a building between the individual roads, one of the two ends of the ship's line bordering the settlement or city is considered open. Thus, any of the two ships that border the settlement or city may be moved.
Special Case 2: If a ship's line describes a circle without connecting a settlement or city, then each of the ships in this circle is considered to be a open.
In the upper picture, any ship other than ship A may be removed.
- If e.g. Ship F is taken away, only ships G and E are considered open.
- Instead, if between ships C and D a settlement would be built, then none of the ships would be considered open anymore, since now two settlements would be connected.
Barbarians III: Players are Defeated - What happens if I have to downgrade a city to a settlement but don’t have another settlement in my supply?
Turn one of your cities on its side and treat it as a settlement until you have upgraded it to a city again.
Six: 2 basic, 2 strong, and 2 mighty knights.