Archer - Do I have to announce which of my opponent's heroes I want to attack before my opponent decides whether or not to use a protective card?

The Cards

No.

Archer - May I play an Archer if my opponent's principality doesn't contain a card my Archer could attack?

The Cards

No.

Archer - May I use the Archer against one of my own heroes?

The Cards

No.

Archer - Whom can my Archer attack?

The Cards

All units featuring strengths points.

Arsonist - Can the Arsonist burn down city expansions? The text on the card says that the Arsonist can only burn down buildings in settlements.

The Cards

The Arsonist can burn down every building located in cities, settlements and metropolises, no matter if it is a settlement/city expansion or city expansion.

Arsonist - Do I have to announce which of my opponent's buildings I want to attack before my opponent decides whether or not to use a protective card?

The Cards

No.

Arsonist - If my opponent prevailed against my Arsonist by using Heinrich the Sentinel or a Lookout Tower, and I only have buildings that are protected by a Fire Brigade - do I have to remove a building from my principality?

The Cards

No. If he prevails, the Arsonist no longer has an effect, which is why it doesn't matter whether or not a Fire Brigade protects the buildings.

Arsonist - May I play the Arsonist against foreign cards in my principality?

The Cards

Yes, if the foreign cards are in settlements/cities.

Note: Foreign cards belong to the Age of Darkness and Age of Enlightenment expansions.

Arsonist - May I play the Arsonist against my own buildings?

The Cards

No.

Arsonist - May I use my Arsonist to attack ships or heroes?

The Cards

No. The Arsonist only plays with fire in the context of buildings.

Axel the Innovator - Do I receive gold if the new building costs less?

The Cards

No. If the removed building costs more than the new building you have built, you don't receive gold.

Axel the Innovator - May I build the new building at a different location - for example, may I remove a road complement and then build a city expansion?

The Cards

No. The new building replaces the removed building and thus must be placed at the location of the removed building.

Axel the Innovator - May I remove a building and replace it with the same building?

The Cards

If you remove a building, you are not allowed to build the same building again.

Axel the Innovator - May I remove an Abbey and replace it with a University?

The Cards

No, even after removing the building the requirement for building it must still be met.

Benjamin the Traveling Scholar - Does Benjamin have an effect on regions I received after the dice roll?

The Cards

Yes.

Brigitta - Can I combine Brigitta with Reiner the Herald or the Grove of Justice?

The Cards

Yes. In this case, you determine both die roll results.

Note: The Grove of Justice belongs to the Age of Enlightenment expansion.

Brigitta - Can I combine Brigitta with the Grove of Justice?

The Cards

Yes. In this case, you determine both die roll results.

Note: The Grove of Justice belongs to the Age of Enlightenment expansion.

Brigitta - If I have buildings that boost production, do I get the improved production when playing Brigitta?

The Cards

Yes.

Brigitta - May I combine Brigitta with Reiner the Herald?

The Cards

Yes.

Brigitta - May I play Brigitta when I use Heinrich the Sentinel or the Lookout Tower to protect my cards against the Archer, Arsonist, or Traitor?

The Cards

No.

Brigitta - May I wait for the event die roll result before deciding whether to play Brigitta?

The Cards

No. First you play Brigitta, then you roll the event die.

Building Crane - Do I have to build the Building Crane in the same city where I built the University?

The Cards

No.

Building Crane - Do I have to remove my Building Crane if I lose my University due to an Arsonist?

The Cards

No.

Building Crane - Does the Building Crane also affect Buildings in other cities?

The Cards

Yes.

Chief Cannoneer - Can a Chief Cannoneer be attacked by an Archer?

The Cards

Yes. However, the affected player has the opportunity to remove another unit that features strength points.

Chief Cannoneer - May I build two Chief Cannoneers?

The Cards

Yes.

Cities - If I build a city on top of a settlement, does the settlement's victory point still count (i.e., three victory points in total)?

The Cards

No. The city including the settlement is worth two victory points.

Drill Ground - Does the Drill Ground reduce the building costs for the Prince/Princess, Chief Cannoneers, Caravels, Mercenaries, Ship Builder, and buildings featuring strength points?

The Cards

No.

Note: Prince/Princess and Mercenaries belong to the Age of Enlightenment expansion, Caravel and Ship Builder belong to of the Age of Darkness expansion.

Drill Ground: May I use the Drill Ground to build a hero at reduced cost and then remove the Drill Ground to place the hero on the building site that has become available?

The Cards

No. To be able to use the Drill Ground, it must stay where it is until the hero is placed. The Drill Ground can only be removed after the hero has been placed.

Fairgrounds - May I decline to receive resources - for example, to avoid being affected by the Brigand Attack next time the event die is rolled?

The Cards

No.

Fire Brigade - Does the Fire Brigade protect region expansions and road complements?

The Cards

No, but region expansions and road complements can't be attacked by an Arsonist anyway.

Note: Road complements belong to the Age of Darkness and Age of Enlightenment expansions.

Fraternal Feuds - On the card it says, "... and places them under matching draw stacks." May I place the two cards under two different stacks, or do I have to place them under the same stack?

The Cards

The cards are placed under matching stacks, which may involve either one or two stacks. If the cards are from the Introductory Game and the Theme Game (in the Theme Game or the Duel) or from different Theme Sets (in the Duel), they must be placed under different stacks.

Fraternal Feuds - When may I draw cards to replace the cards I lost from my hand due to Fraternal Feuds?

The Cards

If you lose two cards from your hand due to Fraternal Feuds, you may not replace them until the end of your own turn - unless you have a Pilgrimage Site. When you are the active player, however, you can take advantage of all opportunities that would provide your hand with more cards during your turn.

Note: The Pilgrimage Site belongs to the Age of Darkness expansion.

Gold Cache - Do I have to remove my Gold Cache if I lose my hero?

The Cards

No.

Gold Cache - If I roll the number of the gold field, do I HAVE TO store the gold in the Gold Cache, or may I also rotate my gold field to one gold?

The Cards

Each time you receive gold, it is up to you whether you want to store it in your gold fields or in the Gold Cache.

Gold Cache - If the number of a gold field filled to capacity is rolled, may I nevertheless store gold in the Gold Cache?

The Cards

If you have a Gold Cache, you may store the gold you receive in a gold field or in the Gold Cache. If - as in this case - the gold field is filled to capacity, you only have the Gold Cache to store gold in.

Gold Cache - If there are already three gold in my Gold Cache, may my gold field still accommodate gold?

The Cards

Let me ask you something in return: "If your wallet is full, may your purse still accommodate the money you receive afterwards?"

Gold Cache - In case of a Plague, does the Gold Cache lose gold?

The Cards

The Gold Cache in an extraordinary site, and Plagues only affect regions adjacent to cities. Therefore, since the Gold Cache is not a region, events that affect regions can't make you lose the gold stored in the Gold Cache. On the other hand, however, you can't use cards that affect regions - such as the *Large Trade Ship* card - to take something away from a Gold Cache, and you also won't obtain any gold from it via events that affect regions.

Gold Cache - Is it allowed to choose the Gold Cache when a Feud is drawn?

The Cards

No, the Gold Cache in an "extraordinary" site and thus cannot be selected when a Feud is drawn.

Gold Cache - Is it allowed to move the Gold Cache via Relocation?

The Cards

Only if the other region expansion can be placed adjacent to the region where the Gold Cache is located.

Note: More region expansions are part of the Age of Darkness and Age of Enlightenment expansions.

Gold Cache - Is it allowed to store gold from other gold fields of the principality in the Gold Cache?

The Cards

In the Gold Cache, you may store all the gold received by means of the production die roll, event die roll, actions, or trade. However, gold that is already placed on regions may not be stored in the Gold Cache.

Gold Cache - Is it allowed to trade the gold from the Gold Cache by means of an adjacent Large Trade Ship?

The Cards

No.

Gold Cache - Is it possible to transfer, during a subsequent turn, any amount of gold stored in a gold field (up to the maximum amount possible) to the Gold Cache?

The Cards

You can only store newly received gold in the Gold Cache, not gold that you have received before.

Gold Cache - May I reject gold during actions performed by my opponent if the Gold Cache is the only place where I can accommodate it?

The Cards

No.

Gold Cache - Must the Gold Cache be built adjacent to a gold field?

The Cards

No.

Gold Cache - When the region adjacent to the Gold Cache receives gold via events, does the Gold Cache also receive gold?

The Cards

No.

Gold Cache - Which gold can be stored in the Gold Cache?

The Cards

In the Gold Cache, you can store all the gold you received by means of the production roll, events, actions, or trade. Gold already stored in gold fields cannot be transferred.

Guido the Ambassador - May Guido be used to take the Prince or Princess from the opponent's discard pile?

The Cards

No, even though they are in exiled in the discard pile, the Prince or Princess belong to the player who owns the discard pile.

Note: Prince and Princess belong to the Age of Enlightenment expansion.

Guido the Ambassador - May I take Brigitta the Wise Woman from the discard pile and, on the same turn, play her before rolling the dice?

The Cards

Yes and no. You may take Brigitta the Wise Woman, but you're not allowed to play Guido before rolling the dice. Therefore, you must keep Brigitta in your hand until you may roll the dice again.

Gustav the Librarian - Which cards may I take from the discard pile when playing Gustav?

The Cards

You may take any one card of your choice.

Harbor - How many commerce points are my ships worth if I have a Harbor?

The Cards

Each trade ship is still only worth one commerce point. The Harbor doesn't earn the trade ships another commerce point - that is the Salt Silo's function.

Hedge Tavern - In the Theme Game, may I remove the Hedge Tavern and then build it again, so that the opponent can't build it?

The Cards

You may remove the Hedge Tavern and build it again. This, however, will not prevent the opponent from building a Hedge Tavern, because in the Theme Game a removed Hedge Tavern is placed face up again.

Irmgard, Keeper of the Light - Do I receive a resource for Irmgard if a card of my opponent is removed from my principality?

The Cards

No, Irmgard only has an effect if your own cards in your own principality are concerned.

Note: Cards that your opponent may build in your principality belong to the Age of Darkness and Age of Enlightenment expansions.

Irmgard, Keeper of the Light - Do I receive a resource if I lose Irmgard?

The Cards

No. If Irmgard herself is removed, you do not receive a resource.

Irmgard, Keeper of the Light - Do I receive a resource if I use a hero like an action card and remove him from the principality?

The Cards

No, you only receive a resource if your opponent performs an action that results in the removal of one of your cards.

Note: Heroes that can be used like action cards belong to the Age of Darkness expansion.

Irmgard, Keeper of the Light - Do I receive a resource if Wolfgang switches over to the opponent when the "Celebration" event occurs?

The Cards

No, because Wolfgang changes sides due to the fact that you use his function.

Note: Wolfgang the Street Performer belongs to the Age of Darkness expansion.

Irmgard, Keeper of the Light - Do I receive the resource from the bank?

The Cards

Yes.

Irmgard, Keeper of the Light - Do I receive two resources for Irmgard if my opponent receives a 3rd heroine by means of a missionary and thus removes the Red Light Tavern I built in his principality?

The Cards

You only receive one resource, i.e., for the missionized heroine. For one thing, the loss of the Tavern is a secondary effect, and for another, the Tavern is in the opponent's principality. Irmgard, however, only compensates you if you lose one of your own expansions in your own principality due to direct effects.

Note: The Missionary card and the Red Light Tavern belong to the Age of Darkness expansion.

Irmgard, Keeper of the Light - Is Irmgard unique?

The Cards

Like all the other heroes, Irmgard is unique.

Large Trade Ship - May I take the resources to be traded via the Large Trade Ship from two regions if the ship is located between two regions of the same type?

The Cards

No.

Large Trade Ship - May I use the Large Trade Ship to trade resources from diagonally adjacent regions?

The Cards

Yes. Two city expansions located in the same city and on the same side of the road are equal with regard to their effect on the regions adjacent to them.

Large Trade Ship - When building the Large Trade Ship, do I have to decide from which of the two neighboring regions I want to trade resources?

The Cards

No.

Large Trade Ship, also compare: Trade ships - How does the Large Trade Ship combine with Capricious Sea?

The Cards

If the "Calm Sea" event occurs, you receive any one resource of your choice for each Large Trade Ship placed in your principality. If the "Storm" event occurs, your Large Trade Ship is also affected.

Note: Capricious Sea belongs to the Age of Darkness expansion.

Large Trade Ship, also compare: Trade ships - How does the Large Trade Ship combine with Hergild the Master Merchant?

The Cards

The two don't combine at all. If you play Hergild the Master Merchant, the exchange rate for a resource you have a trade ship for increases. The Large Trade Ship isn't associated with any resource type and may not be used when Hergild is played.

Note: Hergild the Master Merchant belongs to the Age of Darkness expansion.

Large Trade Ship, also compare: Trade ships - How does the Large Trade Ship combine with the Harbor?

The Cards

In combination with three trade ships, the Harbor receives a victory point. In this context, it doesn't matter whether large or "common" trade ships are involved.

Large Trade Ship, also compare: Trade ships - How does the Large Trade Ship combine with the Lighthouse?

The Cards

The Lighthouse increases the exchange rate to 1:1 and protects you from the Storm ("Capricious Sea" event card).

Note: Lighthouse and Capricious Sea belong to the Age of Darkness expansion.

Large Trade Ship, also compare: Trade ships - How does the Large Trade Ship combine with the Salt Silo?

The Cards

In combination with a Salt Silo, each trade ship in the same principality is worth two commerce points. In this context, it doesn't matter whether large or "common" trade ships are involved.

Large Trade Ship, also compare: Trade ships - May I use the Large Trade Ship to force my opponent to trade with me?

The Cards

No. Each trade performed via the Large Trade Ship is a trade with the bank.

Large Trade Ship, also compare: Trade ships - When trading via the Large Trade Ship, do I trade with my opponent, with the bank, or between regions of my own?

The Cards

You trade exclusively with the bank.

Marketplace - If I choose one gold by means of the Marketplace, may I immediately accommodate it in the Gold Cache?

The Cards

If you receive gold, you can always store it in the Gold Cache.

Marketplace - Is the Marketplace card resolved before or after rolling the event die?

The Cards

The Marketplace belongs to the phase where the production die result is resolved.

Merchant - May I give one of the resources I have received from my opponent back to him?

The Cards

Yes.

Merchant - May I give the opponent a resource in return he can't store?

The Cards

No. In all cases where you can decide which resources to give the opponent, you may only choose resources the opponent can store in his regions or in the Gold Cache.

Merchant - Who determines which region the resources are taken from?

The Cards

The player who has to hand over the resources. The player who receives them only determines the resource type.

Merchant Caravan - May I take any of the discarded resources in return?

The Cards

Yes.

Merchant Caravan - May I use this card if I only have one resource?

The Cards

No.

Merchant Guild - In the Theme Game, may I remove the Merchant Guild and then build it again, so that the opponent can't build it?

The Cards

You may remove the Merchant Guild and build it again. This, however, will not prevent the opponent from building a Merchant Guild, because in the Theme Game a removed Merchant Guild is placed face up again.

Moneylender - Do I also receive two resources if the Trade event is determined by the Grove of Justice or the Court Astrologer?

The Cards

Yes.

Note: Grove of Justice and Court Astrologer belong to the Age of Enlightenment expansion.

Moneylender - Do I receive the two resources in addition to the one resource I receive due to my trade advantage when the "Trade" event occurs?

The Cards

No, you receive the two resources instead of the one resource.

Moneylender - In order to build the Moneylender, do I have to have more commerce points than my opponent?

The Cards

No.

Moneylender - When the "Trade" event occurs, do I receive resources from the bank if my opponent doesn't have two resources?

The Cards

No.

Pharmacy - Do I have to store the received resource in a region adjacent to the Pharmacy?

The Cards

No.

Pirate Ship - If a "Plentiful Harvest" is rolled, do I receive the gold for the Pirate Ship in addition to the resource of my choice, or do I only receive the gold?

The Cards

You receive the gold for the Pirate Ship in addition to the resource.

Pirate Ship - May I only sink a trade ship from my opponent when I build a Pirate Ship, or may I also sink a trade ship afterwards?

The Cards

Only when you build the Pirate Ship.

Pirate Ship - May I remove the Pirate Ship and immediately build it again, in order to sink another ship?

The Cards

Of course you may remove your Pirate Ship. Afterwards, however, you put it on the discard pile and not back into your hand!

Pirate Ship - Which ships may I destroy with a Pirate Ship?

The Cards

If you place a Pirate Ship in your principality, you immediately destroy a trade ship of your opponent if he has one. However, your opponent chooses which of his trade ships he wants to sink. He'll probably want to destroy the ship that trades the scarce resource.

Pirate Ship - Who determines which ship is destroyed by the Pirate Ship?

The Cards

The player who must sink one of his ships may choose which one he wants to place on the discard pile.

Plague - Do regions adjacent to metropolises lose a resource?

The Cards

Yes.

Note: Metropolises belong to the Age of Darkness and Age of Enlightenment expansions.

Plague - Does a region adjacent to two cities lose two resources when a Plague occurs?

The Cards

No.

Production boosters - Do production boosters have an effect when events occur and actions are performed, e.g., when I may choose any one resource or take one resource from my opponent?

The Cards

No.

Production boosters - In a city, do I have to place a production booster card directly adjacent to the region or may I also place it on the 2nd building site, diagonally above or below the region card?

The Cards

The card may also be placed on the 2nd building site.

Production boosters - What happens if I have two resources in a region adjacent to a booster, and the number of the region is rolled?

The Cards

You only receive one resource.

Production boosters - When I build a production booster, do I have to build it between two regions of the same type?

The Cards

No, but it is advisable.

Regions - If I simultaneously build two settlements, am I allowed to swap the regions of the first settlement with those of the second?

The Cards

No, the two building projects take place separately.

Regions - May I move resources of the same type in my own principality?

The Cards

Only by means of the Wainwright.

Note: The Wainwright belongs to the Age of Darkness expansion.

Regions - When building a settlement, may I place the two regions at will?

The Cards

Yes. However, once you have decided where to place the regions, you no longer may change their positions.

Regions - Why are there two region cards more than you can build?

The Cards

That way, it is guaranteed that even when building the last settlement without the help of the Scout there is still some randomness involved upon receiving the regions.

Reiner the Herald - May I combine Reiner with Brigitta?

The Cards

Yes.

Relocation - May I arrange the regions so that they match my production boosters?

The Cards

Yes.

Relocation - May I move a building to an empty building site via Relocation?

The Cards

No.

Relocation - May I swap the region the Gold Cache is adjacent to with the Relocation card?

The Cards

Yes.

Relocation - May I use the Relocation card to exchange a ship for a building?

The Cards

Yes.

Riots - Can the strength advantage or trade advantage switch to the other player after the active player has removed a unit, although the passive player still has to remove a unit?

The Cards

No. The consequences are not resolved until both players have chosen a unit.

Riots - Do I have to pay gold if I have it, or may I "sacrifice" a unit?

The Cards

It's your choice whether you want to pay gold or remove a unit.

Riots - How can I protect my units from Riots?

The Cards

Units without commerce points or strength points are always protected from Riots and can never lose this protection. For units with commerce points or strength points you may pay one gold or, if you have more than two of these units, two gold. The following cards protect potentially threatened units from Riots:

  • Chapel: Protects all affected units if either a "1", "2", or "3" or a "4", "5", or "6" is rolled with the production die. If the player has both Chapels, his units are always protected, no matter which number is rolled with the production die.

 

  • Sebastian the Itinerant Preacher: You may play Sebastian in reaction to Riots. In this case, all your units are protected from these Riots.

 

  • Public Feeling: If you pay one star, the event doesn't affect you.

Note: The Public Feeling card belongs to the Age of Enlightenment expansion.

Riots - In what order are the individual actions performed in case of Riots?

The Cards

First, the active player pays gold or places one of his units under a stack. Afterwards, the passive player pays gold or places one of his units under a stack.

Riots - What happens if only one player can lose a unit but not the other player?

The Cards

Then only one player loses a unit and the other one doesn't.

Riots - When the Riots event card is played, I am supposed to pay one gold, but currently I don't have gold. I don't want to remove the unit though. May I trade a resource type with the bank in order to obtain a gold?

The Cards

No, trades with the bank are only possible during the action phase.

Roads - May I remove a road if I don't need it?

The Cards

No.

Settlements - If I have built all settlements and some cities too, can I continue building settlements by using the settlements underneath the cities?

The Cards

No. The total number of buildable settlements/cities (Metropolises, settlements, and cities) is limited to nine.

Note: Metropolises belong to the Age of Enlightenment and Age of Darkness expansions.

Settlements - Is there a limit for settlement building?

The Cards

There is no rule that would prohibit a player to expand his principality up to the 7th settlement. It is definitely allowed to use this tactic.

Settlements - May I place my settlement at a different location if its regions would be more suitable elsewhere?

The Cards

No.

Staple House - May I choose a resource that I just paid for the Staple House?

The Cards

Yes.

Storehouse - Does a Storehouse protect against the "Brigands" action card?

The Cards

No, it only protects against the "Brigand Attack" event.

Storehouse - If the Year of Plenty event occurs, do I receive two resources for a region located between two Storehouses?

The Cards

Yes, provided that you have room for them.

Tithe Barn - May I decline to receive the resource - for example, to avoid being affected by the Brigand Attack next time the event die is rolled?

The Cards

No.

Tithe Barn - Once I have built my Tithe Barn, does it earn me grain or wool whenever I build heroes?

The Cards

No, you only receive grain or wool when you build the Tithe Barn.

Toll Bridge - If I have two Toll Bridges, do I receive four additional gold or only two?

The Cards

Four, provided that you can store them in your regions or Gold Cache.

Toll Bridge - When the Plentiful Harvest event occurs, do I receive the gold in addition to the resource that may be chosen freely or instead of it?

The Cards

You receive the gold in addition to the resource.

Town Hall - May I use the Town Hall to choose various cards per turn?

The Cards

No. You may only exchange one card at the end of your turn, and you only may choose a card in exchange for a card you have placed under a draw stack. Only if you have Odin's Fountain, you may exchange two cards.

Note: Odin's Fountain belongs to the Age of Darkness expansion.

Trade Master - May I play the Trade Master if I can only accommodate one of my opponent's resources?

The Cards

Yes. In this case, you only take one resource from your opponent.

Trade Master - May I play the Trade Master if my opponent has only one resource?

The Cards

Yes. In this case, you only get this one resource.

Trade Ships - Are the trade ships in the city where the Salt Silo is located the only ones to receive an additional commerce point?

The Cards

No. In combination with a Salt Silo, each trade ship is worth another victory point. In this context, it doesn't matter which city the Salt Silo is located in.

Trade Ships - Can a trade ship perform various trades per turn?

The Cards

Yes.

Trade Ships - If it is not a player's turn, is he allowed to use his trade ships to obtain a resource he can trade with his opponent?

The Cards

No. A player may trade with the bank only during his action phase. Furthermore, the possibility of trading with the opponent has been eliminated, because in a 2-player game this kind of trade is usually unfavorable for the passive player.

Trading Base - Does the Trading Base increase the commerce points of ships?

The Cards

No.

Traitor - Can I use a Traitor to steal a Traitor?

The Cards

Yes.

Traitor - Do I get my Traitor back if my opponent's hand doesn't contain anything I could steal?

The Cards

No.

Traitor - If I take a card from my opponent via the Traitor, my I place it without paying its building costs?

The Cards

Only if the card may be placed free of charge anyway.

Traitor - If my opponent's Traitor fails because of my Lookout Tower, do I nevertheless have to show him my hand of cards, although he may not steal any card from me?

The Cards

No. A failed Traitor of your opponent has no effect on you.

Traitor - May a Traitor steal buildings?

The Cards

Only in the Theme Game and the Duel - not in the Tournament Game.

Traitor - May a Traitor steal sages?

The Cards

Yes.

Note: Sages belong to the Age of Enlightenment expansion.

 

Traitor - May I immediately replenish my hand if a card was stolen from me via a Traitor?

The Cards

Only if you have a Pilgrimage Site. Otherwise, you may not replenish your hand until the end of your next turn.

Note: The Pilgrimage Site belongs to the Age of Darkness expansion.

Traitor - May I immediately use a card I have stolen via the Traitor?

The Cards

Yes, provided that by doing so you don't violate another rule.

Traitor - May I play the Traitor if I know that my opponent's hand doesn't contain any card I could take from him?

The Cards

Yes.

Traitor - May I play the Traitor if my opponent has no cards?

The Cards

No.

Traitor - What happens with the card I have received from my opponent via the Traitor?

The Cards

Everything that also happens with cards you have received in a different way.

Traitor - When my opponent plays a Traitor, do I have to show all my cards or only the ones he can steal?

The Cards

You have to show all your cards.

University - Does the University allow me to have one more card in my hand?

The Cards

Now it is possible again.

University - In the Theme Game, may I remove the University and then build it again, so that the opponent can't build it?

The Cards

You may remove the University and build it again. This, however, will not prevent the opponent from building a University, because in the Theme Game a removed University is placed face up again.

University - May I play action cards that require the University if I have lost the University due to an Arsonist?

The Cards

No.

What are Special Cards?

The Cards

Special cards are cards which, on occasions such as the annual game fair in Essen/Germany, are published in honor of people who contributed to the success of the CATAN games. These cards do not belong to the regular card pool, and both players or, if applicable, the organizers of a tournament must agree to include these cards in the game. The cards have been published at first in German only. Some of them can be now purchased in English language via the CATAN Shop.

To date, the following cards have been published:

  • Axel, der Erneuerer (Axel the Innovator), published in 2010 for the Theme Game "The Era of Gold," the Duel of the Princes, and the Tournament Game:
    Remove a building. Replace it with another building and pay the difference of the building costs in gold. Observe the building rules!

  • Johannes, der Advokat (Johannes the Advocate), published in 2011 for the Theme Game "The Era of Merchant Princes," the Duel of the Princes, and the Tournament Game:
    If you lose resources due to an action card played by your opponent, you may pay one gold and roll the die. 1-3: Demand one resource from your opponent; if he leads, you may demand another one from him. 4, 5: You get your gold back.

  • Catan Mobil, published  in Spring 2012 especially for the Introductory Game, the Duel of the Princes and the Tournament Game:
    If the production number of an adjacent region is rolled, you receive one additional resource in that region. Afterwards, place the Catan Mobil on another empty building site - if need be, on one of your opponent's empty building sites. If there is no empty building site, place the Catan Mobil on the discard pile (on your own discard pile).

  • Carol, die Spieleerkl√§rerin (Carol the Game Teacher), published spring 2012 especially for the Introductory Game, the Duel of the Princes, and the Tournament Game:
    At the beginning of the game, place this card in your principality. Once during your opponent's turn: If you can answer one of his rule questions, you both receive one resource, indicated by a region adjacent to Carol.
    Note: This card isn't available at the CATAN Shop.

  • Alexander und Sebastian, die Buchhalter (Alexander and Sebastian, the Bookkeepers), published fall 2012 for the Theme Game "The Era of Prosperity," the Duel of the Princes, and the Tournament Game:
    Your treasures have been recounted in your favor. If you are in the lead, immediately take any one resource of your choice, otherwise take any two resources. Requires: Prince or Princess.

  • Gavin, der Sprachkundige (Gavin the Polyglot), published fall 2013 for the Introductory Game and all other Games:
    1x during your turn: You may exchange one resource from a region where you have three resources for any one different resource of your choice.

Year of Plenty - Do I receive two resources for a region located between two Storehouses?

The Cards

Yes.

Yule - Does the Yule have another effect besides prompting the players to shuffle the event card stack?

The Cards

Yes. A new event card is revealed.

Yule - I can't find the Yule in the deck editor for the online Card Game. Is there a mistake?

The Cards

No. The program adds the Yule automatically.

Yule - If the Yule card is revealed, do you shuffle the card together with the other event cards?

The Cards

No. You assemble the event card stack as you did at the beginning of the game.

Yule - In the Tournament Game, may I choose a Yule for my four event cards if I'm not the host?

The Cards

No. The game may only be played with one Yule.