General Questions

Yes. According to the Catanian set of rules, a stack is a place where Resource Cards are (or were) stored. Therefore, the stack remains a stack even if you have taken all cards from a stack as the game progresses.

General Questions

On your discard pile.

General Questions

Yes. Once you have chosen and viewed a stack, you must take a card from it.

General Questions

What most Center Cards have in common is that once they are placed in a principality, you can't move them until the game ends; at best, you can place other Center Cards on top of them (Citadels and cities on settlements, and Metropolises on cities). The Public Feeling in its capacity as an abstract Counting Card is an exception to this: it can be moved at any time during the game if a player wants to make different use of the building site it is placed on.

Note: The Citadels belong to the theme set "Wizards & Dragons", the Public Feeling belongs to the Artisans & Benefactors Expansion Set. All expansions of the CATAN Card Game can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

You can combine City Expansions and Region Expansions at will.

General Questions

No.

General Questions

Yes.

Note: Foreign Cards and the Pawnbroker are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

Yes.

Note: Foreign Cards are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

No.

Note: Foreign Cards are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

Foreign Cards are cards that a player places in his game partner’s principality but that do not become his game partner’s property.

Note: Foreign Cards are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

A game turn is the time during which one of the players performs actions within the scope of the game rules and actively intervenes in the game. A game round is the immediate succession of two game turns, where each of the two players is once the active and once the passive player.

General Questions
  • The active player must observe his hand limit only at the end of his turn.

 

  • The passive player, however, must observe his hand limit at any time, meaning that he might have to discard cards in between.
General Questions

It doesn’t affect it at all.

General Questions

It is not affected at all. The active player – that is, the player whose turn it is – has to observe the hand limit only at the end of his turn.

General Questions

It is important for both the active and passive player to observe the hand limit at all times. If the passive player receives cards through events or actions performed by his opponent and thus exceeds his hand limit, he immediately must reduce the number of cards in his hand to the number allowed. Only then can the active player continue with his turn.

Note: This rule is valid for the old Catan Card game. The rule for the Rivals for Catan is different.

General Questions

As Knights.

General Questions

No. You may do so one round after his acquisition at the earliest.

Note: The Bribery belongs to the theme set "Politics & Intrigue". All expansions of the CATAN Card Game can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

No. Only on your next turn.

Note: The Countermagic belongs to the theme set "Wizards & Dragons". All expansions of the CATAN Card Game can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

Yes.

General Questions

Yes.

Note: Lady Imelda belongs to the theme set "Knights & Merchants", the Bribery belongs to the theme set "Politics & Intrigue". All expansions of the CATAN Card Game can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

The Knight is put back onto his place in the principality.

Note: The Countermagic belongs to the theme set "Wizards & Dragons". All expansions of the CATAN Card Game can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

The factors affecting the strength of Knights are calculated in the chronological order in which they become effective. Each time the Magic Potion loses its effect the strength is calculated again.

Note: Magic Potion and Bordello belong to the theme sets "Wizards & Dragons" and "Politics & Intrigue". All expansions of the CATAN Card Game can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

Knights are individuals that have a name, belong to the human race, and possess strength points and/or tournament points.

General Questions

In most cases, immediately. Exceptions are expressly stated on the cards or in the game instructions.

General Questions

You may interchange only the two upper expansions among each other and the two lower ones among each other. You can’t interchange an upper and a lower expansion.

General Questions

During your turn, you can use most of the expansions as often as it seems reasonable to you and as long as you can pay for it if necessary. Some expansions of the theme sets can only be used once per turn, which is expressly stated on the respective cards.

General Questions

These cards stay in place and continue to be effective. Requirements must be met only at the moment the cards are played; later they are irrelevant.

General Questions

You may perform all actions as often as you like and as long as you are able to pay for them if necessary, provided that the rules for the expansions used do not contradict it.

General Questions

In principle, yes. There are exceptions in the expanded Base Game with theme sets; they are mentioned in the corresponding rules.

General Questions

Played Action Cards go to the discard pile. There are several possibilities for you to get them back into your hand, and each time you succeed you may play the card again.

General Questions

No. If you know that an Action Card can’t have any effect, then you are not allowed to play it.

General Questions

Yes.

Note: Region Improvements and Citadels are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

 

General Questions

Yes.

Note: Region Improvements are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

Region Improvements are free of charge, but there are conditions attached. You may place them as soon as you meet those conditions.

Note: Region Improvements are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

They are cards that are placed adjacent to regions; they feature (since 2006) a brown text box.

General Questions

Yes, provided that they are Buildings.

Note: Road Improvements are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

No.

Note: Road Improvements and Fire Brigade are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

A trade with the bank is defined as any trade of resources that doesn’t involve the opponent, where the following may be used: Trade FleetsChristopher the Great Explorer, the Mint, and the “normal” 3:1 exchange rate.

Note: Christopher the Great Explorer belongs to the "Barbarians & Traders" theme set, which is part of the Catan Card Game – Expansion Set. More information on the games can be found in the Ludography.

General Questions

You are entitled to receive the resource if you meet the requirements for the “Trade Advantage.” The Windmill Token serves as a reminder of this. The same applies to the Knight Token.