Card Stacks - If I have to slide a card under a stack, can it also be a stack containing zero cards?

General Questions

Yes. According to the Catanian set of rules, a stack is a place where Resource Cards are (or were) stored. Therefore, the stack remains a stack even if you have taken all cards from a stack as the game progresses.

Card stacks - In the Tournament Game, on whose discard pile do I place the cards I have taken from my opponent and then played myself?

General Questions

On your discard pile.

Card Stacks - When exchanging or drawing cards, I’m allowed to sift through an Expansion Card stack if I pay resources. Do I have to draw from the chosen stack even if I don’t like what I see?

General Questions

Yes. Once you have chosen and viewed a stack, you must take a card from it.

Center Cards - What are Center Cards?

General Questions

What most Center Cards have in common is that once they are placed in a principality, you can't move them until the game ends; at best, you can place other Center Cards on top of them (Citadels and cities on settlements, and Metropolises on cities). The Public Feeling in its capacity as an abstract Counting Card is an exception to this: it can be moved at any time during the game if a player wants to make different use of the building site it is placed on.

Note: The Citadels belong to the theme set "Wizards & Dragons", the Public Feeling belongs to the Artisans & Benefactors Expansion Set. All expansions of the CATAN Card Game can be found in the Ludography.

City Expansions - Can I place four City Expansions in a city, or only two City Expansions and two Region Expansions?

General Questions

You can combine City Expansions and Region Expansions at will.

Event Trade Advantage - If I have no room for a resource, does my opponent also lose a resource?

General Questions

No.

Foreign Cards - Can I place the Pawnbroker also on Foreign Cards that I placed in my opponent’s principality?

General Questions

Yes.

Note: Foreign Cards and the Pawnbroker are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

Foreign Cards - Can I remove a Foreign Card that I placed in my game partner’s principality?

General Questions

Yes.

Note: Foreign Cards are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

Foreign Cards - Can I remove Foreign Cards that my game partner placed in my principality?

General Questions

No.

Note: Foreign Cards are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

Foreign Cards - What are Foreign Cards?

General Questions

Foreign Cards are cards that a player places in his game partner’s principality but that do not become his game partner’s property.

Note: Foreign Cards are part of the CATAN Card Game, which can be found in the Ludography.

Game turn and game round - What's the difference between a game round and a game turn?

General Questions

A game turn is the time during which one of the players performs actions within the scope of the game rules and actively intervenes in the game. A game round is the immediate succession of two game turns, where each of the two players is once the active and once the passive player.

Hand Limit - What needs to be considered in terms of the hand limit when players take cards back into their hand? Do I have to observe my hand limit only at the end of my turn?

General Questions
  • The active player must observe his hand limit only at the end of his turn.

 

  • The passive player, however, must observe his hand limit at any time, meaning that he might have to discard cards in between.