FAQ: “Traders & Barbarians” Expansion
Combination of “Traders & Barbarians" with "Seafarers”
-
Catan Event Cards + Seafarers (in general) - May I build ships if one of my roads is damaged?
Yes. You can’t continue building roads though.
-
Catan Event Cards + Seafarers (in general) - May I turn a ship sideways, instead of a road?
No.
-
The Caravans + Seafarers (in general) - Do camels have an effect on neighboring ships?
Yes.
-
The Friendly Robber + Seafarers (in general) - Is the pirate also friendly when “Seafarers” is combined with “The Friendly Robber”?
Yes.
-
The Lost Tribe + Harbormaster - When I get a harbor from the Forgotten Tribe, do I receive a harbor point even if I can’t build a harbor right away?
No.
-
The Rivers of Catan + Seafarers (in general) - May I build ships on the dotted lines?
Yes, provided that you'd be allowed to build a ship there if the line didn’t exist.
-
The Wonders of Catan + Barbarian Attack - Is a settlement adjacent to the wasteland threatened by the barbarians who are in play from the start?
Yes. Otherwise, it would be too easy to build the Great Wall.
-
Traders & Barbarians + Seafarers (in general) - May I move the wagon from a road onto a ship if there is no settlement between the road and the ship?
Yes. When you move a wagon, it doesn’t matter whether you move it along a closed or an open trade route.
Combination of “Traders & Barbarians” with “Cities & Knights”
-
Barbarian Attack (in general) - When determining which player has the most victory points, is each captured barbarian counted as half a victory point?
2 captured barbarians are worth one victory point, but a single barbarian initially has no value for a player. In a combination with Cities & Knights or The Fishermen of Catan, this means that whenever you can play cards (Master Merchant and Wedding) against the leading player(s), they are not affected by it if a single captured barbarian provides them with half a virtual point more than you.
-
Barbarian Attack + C&K - How far away do you move a displaced knight?
His owner places him on the next free path.
-
Barbarian Attack + C&K - Is it prohibited to use gold for trading commodities when a 3:1 or 4:1 trade is performed?
Yes.
-
Barbarian Attack + C&K - May I use a Diplomat to move a road on which a knight stands?
Yes.
-
Barbarian Attack + C&K - May knights be moved past foreign knights, settlements, and cities?
Yes.
-
Catan Event Cards (Earthquake) + C&K - May I build a knight adjacent to a damaged road?
Yes.
-
Catan Event Cards (Earthquake) + C&K - May I use the Diplomat to remove a damaged road and replace it with a new road?
No.