FAQ: “Traders & Barbarians” Expansion
“Traders & Barbarians” Expansion
-
The Fishermen of Catan - When exchanging fish tokens, may I take a fish token of my choice from the discard pile?
No, you must draw from the face-down fish token supply.
-
The Friendly Robber - Are victory points on face-down cards also taken into account when determining next to which player I may place the friendly robber?
No. Only visible victory points are considered.
-
The Friendly Robber - Do I have to place the friendly robber on a hex adjacent to which I have a settlement or city if any other position would affect players with less than 3 victory points?
Yes. However, this will happen only in very rare cases.
-
The Friendly Robber - If all my opponents have only 2 points each, may I drive away the robber without stealing a card?
Yes.
-
The Rivers of Catan - Are the terrain hexes depicting the source of the river also regarded as river hexes?
Yes.
-
The Rivers of Catan - May I cross the river by means of a road?
No. (This was only allowed in the 2005 giveaway edition.)
-
Traders & Barbarians - After my wagon's movement has ended, may I still drive off a barbarian?
No.
-
Traders & Barbarians - May I buy movement points ahead?
No. You must immediately use the movement points you have bought.
-
Traders & Barbarians - May I drive off a barbarian and not use the path afterwards?
No.
-
Traders & Barbarians - May I use the “Swift Journey” card after I have reached the trade hex?
Yes.
-
Traders & Barbarians - What is the effect of the “Swift Journey” card?
You may use the movement points of your wagon once more. If you want to move on, you must pay grain again.
Combinations of "Traders & Barbarians" with other expansions
-
How can I combine Traders & Barbarians with other scenarios?
You can find information on possible combinations on the Catan website - please click here.
Combination of “Traders & Barbarians" with "Seafarers”
-
Barbarian Attack + Seafarers (in general) - Is a trade route interrupted if a settlement that represents the only connection between road and ship route is conquered?
The conquered settlement still exists. The trade route is interrupted, that is, only the road segments or the ships count toward the Longest Trade Route. However, the ship and the road segment adjacent to the settlement are not “open.”
-
Catan Event Cards + Seafarers (in general) - Does the event “Robber flees!” also affect the pirate?
No.
-
Catan Event Cards + Seafarers (in general) - In scenarios without desert, what happens when the robber flees to the desert?
The robber is placed beside the game board, where he waits for his next mission – that is, until a “seven” is rolled or a Knight card is played.