“Cities & Knights” Expansion
-
Barbarians I: Course of the Battle - Do I deactivate all knights or only those that participated in the battle against the barbarians?
- If you play according to the basic rule for Cities & Knights: All active knights participate in the battle; therefore, they all are deactivated.
- If you play the variant for “meanies,” each player decides which of his knights participates in the battle, and they are the only ones that are deactivated after the battle.
-
Barbarians I: Course of the Battle - How do you calculate the strength of the barbarians?
The strength of the barbarians is calculated according to the following formula:
b = s + m
where: b = strength of barbarians, s = number of cities, m = number of metropolises -
Barbarians I: Course of the Battle - May I intentionally make a knight weaker for the duration of the battle – for example, by declaring that a mighty knight is fighting only with the strength of a basic knight?
No. Not only does this contradict the rules, it is also beneath a knight’s dignity.
-
Barbarians I: Course of the Battle - May I still activate knights the moment the barbarian ship reaches the coast?
No, battle ensues immediately.
-
Barbarians II: Players Win - After I defended Catan, may I take a Progress Card that matches the color of an area of development where I don't have a city improvement?
Yes.
-
Barbarians II: Players Win - Can I still earn points as the “Defender of Catan” after the respective cards have all been distributed?
Yes. Simply use any other symbol of your choice to denote the victory point.
-
Barbarians II: Players Win - Can the players win against the barbarians if there is not one single city on Catan?
Yes.
-
Barbarians II: Players Win - If I don't have a city, do I receive the Defender of Catan card or a Progress Card as a reward for victory?
Yes.
-
Barbarians II: Players Win - If I draw a “Victory Point” Progress Card after a victory over the barbarians, may I keep the card?
Yes. The specification given in the game rules that “no one receives a card” only refers to the fact that no Defender of Catan card is awarded in case of a tie.
-
Barbarians III: Players are Defeated - After losing my last city, do I have to return all city improvements, Progress Cards, and commodities?
No. You merely can’t purchase any further city improvements before having built a city again.
-
Barbarians III: Players are Defeated - Does a city wall protect a city from being lost to the barbarians?
No.
-
Barbarians III: Players are Defeated - If I lose a city during my turn, do I - on the same turn - still receive the resources or commodities corresponding to this city?
No. You only receive the production for the settlement.
-
Barbarians III: Players are Defeated - If the player with the lowest strength of knights can’t lose a city, who loses one?
If the player with the lowest strength of knights can’t lose a city, the player with the second lowest strength of knights loses one. If this player can’t lose a city either, the player with the third lowest strength of knights loses one. And so on, until a player has lost a city.
-
Barbarians III: Players are Defeated - What happens if I have to downgrade a city to a settlement but don’t have another settlement in my supply?
Turn one of your cities on its side and treat it as a settlement until you have upgraded it to a city again.
-
Barbarians III: Players are Defeated - Who decides which city a player loses after Catan is defeated by the barbarians?
The affected player decides.