FAQ: Catan – Board Game
Subcategories
“Traders & Barbarians” Expansion
-
Catan for Two - May I move the robber in between my two production rolls by playing a Development Card?
Yes.
-
Catan for Two - May I perform a forced frade if my opponent has less than 2 cards?
- If your opponent has only 1 card, you may take it from him, but you must give him back 2 cards.
- If your opponent has no card, he cannot trade with you, not even by force.
-
Catan for Two - May I steal a Resource Card after I have used trade tokens to move the robber to the desert?
No.
-
Catan for Two - May I use the trade tokens before rolling the dice?
Yes.
-
Catan for Two - Where do I place the Knight cards I discarded in exchange for trade tokens?
On the discard pile.
-
General - Is Traders & Barbarians also available with wooden game pieces?
A German edition of Traders & Barbarians with wooden game components is not programmed. However, you can order a set of matching wooden game components at the Catan Shop.
-
I don’t understand the rule regarding the “orientation” pairs of paths adjacent to the castle hex. How do they determine which knights are removed?
After a victory over the barbarians, one of the involved players rolls a die and places it in the center of the castle hex. Each of the 6 edges of the castle hex is marked with a different die roll result. The number rolled determines one of the three possible “orientation” pairs of paths adjacent to the castle hex: the path adjacent to the edge marked with the number rolled and the path adjacent to the edge on the opposite side.
Check each knight involved in the victory. If the path that the knight is on has the same orientation as one of the two paths on the castle hex determined by the die roll, remove that knight from the board.
-
The Caravans - May I place a camel on the coast?
Yes. An edge between a terrain hex and water is also regarded as a “path.”
-
The Caravans - May I place a camel on the path adjacent to the oasis if the caravan has found its way back to the oasis?
Yes, provided that the last camel you placed faces a free intersection at the oasis hex.
-
The Fishermen of Catan - Are victory points on face-down Development Cards also taken into account when I want to give the old boot to another player?
No. Only visible victory points are considered.
-
The Fishermen of Catan - Do I have 1 victory point less as long as I own the old boot?
No. Although the owner of the old boot needs 1 victory point more to win the game, this token doesn’t affect the number of victory points he owns.
-
The Fishermen of Catan - Is the old boot counted towards the allowed maximum number of 7 fish tokens per player?
No.
-
The Fishermen of Catan - May I perform various actions with fish tokens and pay it all in one chunk?
You may perform various actions with fish tokens, but you have to pay for each action individually – meaning that sometimes you'll probably overpay.
-
The Fishermen of Catan - May I place the robber on the lake?
Yes.
-
The Fishermen of Catan - May I trade fish tokens?
No.