FAQ: The Rivals for Catan
The Cards
-
Moneylender - In order to build the Moneylender, do I have to have more commerce points than my opponent?
No.
-
Moneylender - When the "Trade" event occurs, do I receive resources from the bank if my opponent doesn't have 2 resources?
No.
-
Pharmacy - Do I have to store the received resource in a region adjacent to the Pharmacy?
No.
-
Pirate Ship - If a "Plentiful Harvest" is rolled, do I receive the gold for the Pirate Ship in addition to the resource of my choice, or do I only receive the gold?
You receive the gold for the Pirate Ship in addition to the resource.
-
Pirate Ship - May I only sink a trade ship from my opponent when I build a Pirate Ship, or may I also sink a trade ship afterwards?
Only when you build the Pirate Ship.
-
Pirate Ship - May I remove the Pirate Ship and immediately build it again, in order to sink another ship?
Of course you may remove your Pirate Ship. Afterwards, however, you put it on the discard pile and not back into your hand!
-
Pirate Ship - Which ships may I destroy with a Pirate Ship?
If you place a Pirate Ship in your principality, you immediately destroy a trade ship of your opponent if he has one. However, your opponent chooses which of his trade ships he wants to sink. He'll probably want to destroy the ship that trades the scarce resource.
-
Pirate Ship - Who determines which ship is destroyed by the Pirate Ship?
The player who must sink one of his ships may choose which one he wants to place on the discard pile.
-
Plague - Do regions adjacent to metropolises lose a resource?
Yes.
Note: Metropolises belong to the Age of Darkness and Age of Enlightenment expansions.
-
Plague - Does a region adjacent to 2 cities lose 2 resources when a Plague occurs?
No.
-
Production boosters - Do production boosters have an effect when events occur and actions are performed, e.g., when I may choose any 1 resource or take 1 resource from my opponent?
No.
-
Production boosters - In a city, do I have to place a production booster card directly adjacent to the region or may I also place it on the 2nd building site, diagonally above or below the region card?
The card may also be placed on the 2nd building site.
-
Production boosters - What happens if I have 2 resources in a region adjacent to a booster, and the number of the region is rolled?
You only receive 1 resource.
-
Production boosters - When I build a production booster, do I have to build it between 2 regions of the same type?
No, but it is advisable.
-
Production Buildings - In a city, do I have to place a production booster card directly adjacent to the region card or may I also place it on the 2nd building site, diagonally above or below the region card?
The card may also be placed on the 2nd building site.