FAQ: The Rivals for Catan
The Cards
-
Large Trade Ship, also compare: Trade ships - How does the Large Trade Ship combine with the Harbor?
In combination with 3 trade ships, the Harbor receives a victory point. In this context, it doesn't matter whether large or "common" trade ships are involved.
-
Large Trade Ship, also compare: Trade ships - How does the Large Trade Ship combine with the Lighthouse?
The Lighthouse increases the exchange rate to 1:1 and protects you from the Storm ("Capricious Sea" event card).
Note: Lighthouse and Capricious Sea belong to the Age of Darkness expansion.
-
Large Trade Ship, also compare: Trade ships - How does the Large Trade Ship combine with the Salt Silo?
In combination with a Salt Silo, each trade ship in the same principality is worth 2 commerce points. In this context, it doesn't matter whether large or "common" trade ships are involved.
-
Large Trade Ship, also compare: Trade ships - May I use the Large Trade Ship to force my opponent to trade with me?
No. Each trade performed via the Large Trade Ship is a trade with the bank.
-
Large Trade Ship, also compare: Trade ships - When trading via the Large Trade Ship, do I trade with my opponent, with the bank, or between regions of my own?
You trade exclusively with the bank.
-
Marketplace - If I choose 1 gold by means of the Marketplace, may I immediately accommodate it in the Gold Cache?
If you receive gold, you can always store it in the Gold Cache.
-
Marketplace - Is the Marketplace card resolved before or after rolling the event die?
The Marketplace belongs to the phase where the production die result is resolved.
-
Merchant - May I give one of the resources I have received from my opponent back to him?
Yes.
-
Merchant - May I give the opponent a resource in return he can't store?
No. In all cases where you can decide which resources to give the opponent, you may only choose resources the opponent can store in his regions or in the Gold Cache.
-
Merchant - Who determines which region the resources are taken from?
The player who has to hand over the resources. The player who receives them only determines the resource type.
-
Merchant Caravan - May I take any of the discarded resources in return?
Yes.
-
Merchant Caravan - May I use this card if I only have 1 resource?
No.
-
Merchant Guild - In the Theme Game, may I remove the Merchant Guild and then build it again, so that the opponent can't build it?
You may remove the Merchant Guild and build it again. This, however, will not prevent the opponent from building a Merchant Guild, because in the Theme Game a removed Merchant Guild is placed face up again.
-
Moneylender - Do I also receive 2 resources if the Trade event is determined by the Grove of Justice or the Court Astrologer?
Yes.
Note: Grove of Justice and Court Astrologer belong to the Age of Enlightenment expansion.
-
Moneylender - Do I receive the 2 resources in addition to the 1 resource I receive due to my trade advantage when the "Trade" event occurs?
No, you receive the 2 resources instead of the 1 resource.