FAQ: The Rivals for Catan
The Cards
-
Gold Cache - If the number of a gold field filled to capacity is rolled, may I nevertheless store gold in the Gold Cache?
If you have a Gold Cache, you may store the gold you receive in a gold field or in the Gold Cache. If - as in this case - the gold field is filled to capacity, you only have the Gold Cache to store gold in.
-
Gold Cache - If there are already 3 gold in my Gold Cache, may my gold field still accommodate gold?
Let me ask you something in return: "If your wallet is full, may your purse still accommodate the money you receive afterwards?"
-
Gold Cache - In case of a Plague, does the Gold Cache lose gold?
The Gold Cache in an extraordinary site, and Plagues only affect regions adjacent to cities. Therefore, since the Gold Cache is not a region, events that affect regions can't make you lose the gold stored in the Gold Cache. On the other hand, however, you can't use cards that affect regions - such as the* Large Trade Ship* card - to take something away from a Gold Cache, and you also won't obtain any gold from it via events that affect regions.
-
Gold Cache - Is it allowed to choose the Gold Cache when a Feud is drawn?
No, the Gold Cache in an "extraordinary" site and thus cannot be selected when a Feud is drawn.
-
Gold Cache - Is it allowed to move the Gold Cache via Relocation?
Only if the other region expansion can be placed adjacent to the region where the Gold Cache is located.
Note: More region expansions are part of the Age of Darkness and Age of Enlightenment expansions.
-
Gold Cache - Is it allowed to store gold from other gold fields of the principality in the Gold Cache?
In the Gold Cache, you may store all the gold received by means of the production die roll, event die roll, actions, or trade. However, gold that is already placed on regions may not be stored in the Gold Cache.
-
Gold Cache - Is it allowed to trade the gold from the Gold Cache by means of an adjacent Large Trade Ship?
No.
-
Gold Cache - Is it possible to transfer, during a subsequent turn, any amount of gold stored in a gold field (up to the maximum amount possible) to the Gold Cache?
You can only store newly received gold in the Gold Cache, not gold that you have received before.
-
Gold Cache - May I reject gold during actions performed by my opponent if the Gold Cache is the only place where I can accommodate it?
No.
-
Gold Cache - Must the Gold Cache be built adjacent to a gold field?
No.
-
Gold Cache - When the region adjacent to the Gold Cache receives gold via events, does the Gold Cache also receive gold?
No.
-
Gold Cache - Which gold can be stored in the Gold Cache?
In the Gold Cache, you can store all the gold you received by means of the production roll, events, actions, or trade. Gold already stored in gold fields cannot be transferred.
-
Guido the Ambassador - May Guido be used to take the Prince or Princess from the opponent's discard pile?
No, even though they are in exiled in the discard pile, the Prince or Princess belong to the player who owns the discard pile.
Note: Prince and Princess belong to the Age of Enlightenment expansion.
-
Guido the Ambassador - May I take Brigitta the Wise Woman from the discard pile and, on the same turn, play her before rolling the dice?
Yes and no. You may take Brigitta the Wise Woman, but you're not allowed to play Guido before rolling the dice. Therefore, you must keep Brigitta in your hand until you may roll the dice again.
-
Gustav the Librarian - Which cards may I take from the discard pile when playing Gustav?
You may take any 1 card of your choice.