Influence Card – Action “Deserter” - May I play a Deserter or an expansion card against my own Domains (which often would make a lot of sense during the final phase)?

Domaine

No.

Influence Card – Action “Deserter” - May I play the Deserter card if I no longer have an own knight in my Domain?

Domaine

No. The game rule does not allow this.

Influence Card – Action “Place Borders” - It is not allowed to place borders within Domains. Does this also apply for areas that are surrounded by borders but do not have a castle?

Domaine

These “areas” are usually called “neutral zones.” You may place borders inside neutral zones, but it makes no sense and has no effect either.

Influence Card – Action “Place Border” - If I choose the action “Place borders,” do I have to place border markers on all borders depicted on the map?

Domaine

No, you can also omit some.

Influence Card – Action “Place Border” - May the action “Place borders” also be used to annex parts of a neutral zone?

Domaine

No, that’s only possible with the action “Expand your Domain.”

Influence Card – Action “Place Knights” - According to the game rules, “an extra gold” must be paid when placing a knight on forest territories. Does “gold” mean a ducat?

Domaine

One copper colored ducat must be paid. It happens to be a mistake that the rule refers to gold in this case.

Influence Card – Action “Place Knights” - If I play a “2 Knights” action card, may I build only one knight?

Domaine

Yes, you may build only one knight.

Influence Card – Action “Place Knights” - Why do I have to pay a ducat for a knight on a forest? I can’t see any advantage I could get from a knight on a forest.

Domaine

It serves the purpose of providing the game with more strategic variety: when you build a castle, having to pay for the knight obliges you to check whether there are cost-effective neighboring places for knights.

Influence Cards - General - May I use a multiple-expansion / multiple-knight action card for exactly one or for various of my Domains (the latter meaning that I may split up the actions)?

Domaine

The multiple-expansion card must be used for exactly one Domain (although you may expand at two different places in a Domain, by one space each); the multiple-knight card actions may also be split up.

Starting Set-up - What happens if a castle cannot be placed because of the distance rule?

Domaine

If it is impossible to observe the distance of six territories demanded by the rule, the distance is reduced to five territories for this particular castle. The rule demanding a distance of six territories still applies - if possible - to the other players' castles.
This rule applies to the players’ castles as well as to the neutral player’s castles used in the 2-player game.

Starting Set-up - What’s the meaning of the neutral castles in the 2-player variant?

Domaine

The neutral castles in the 2-player variant serve the purpose of restricting the space for the two players.