General Questions
-
Card stacks - If I have to place a card under a stack, can the stack contain zero cards?
Yes. The Catanian rules system defines a stack as a place where cards are located or were located. Therefore, if a stack was completely depleted during the course of the game, it continues to be a stack and can be used to deposit cards there.
-
Card stacks - In the Tournament Game, on whose discard pile do I place the cards I have taken from my opponent and then played myself?
On your discard pile.
-
Card stacks - When exchanging cards, I may pay resources to search an expansion card stack. Do I have to draw from that stack, even if I don't like any of its cards?
Yes. Once you have chosen a stack and looked at it, you also have to draw a card from it.
-
City expansions - May I place 4 city expansion in a city, or only 2 city expansions and 2 settlement/city expansions?
You may combine city expansions and settlement/city expansions at will.
-
City expansions - May I swap the positions of the expansions in a city for optical reasons?
As long as this doesn't have effects other than purely optical ones: yes.
-
Discard pile - Is it permitted to view all cards in the discard pile, in order to determine which cards are still in play or to check which cards are in the discard pile before playing a card that allows you to retrieve a card from it?
- You may only examine your own discard pile if you play a card that allows you to take a card from the discard pile.
- You may only examine your opponent's discard pile if you play a card that allows you to take a card from your opponent's discard pile. Currently, Guido the Ambassador is the only card of this type.
-
Event - Celebration - Is the player who rolls the dice the only one to receive a resource?
No. Either both players receive 1 resource each (if they don't have any skill points at all or an equal number of skill points) or only the player who has the most skill points receives 1 resource.
-
Event - Trade - Do I receive the resource for the trade advantage only if the trade token is physically placed on one of my settlements?
You are entitled to the resource if you meet the requirements for the "trade advantage." The trade token serves as a reminder of this fact. The same applies to the hero token.
-
Event - Trade - Does my opponent loose a resource if I don't have room to accommodate it?
No.
-
Extraordinary sites - Is it allowed to remove extraordinary sites?
Yes.
-
Foreign cards - May I remove my opponent's foreign cards in my principality?
No.
-
Foreign cards - May I remove my own foreign cards in my opponent's principality?
Yes.
-
Foreign cards - What are foreign cards?
Foreign cards are cards that a player builds in his opponent's principality but that do not become the opponent's property.
-
Game turn and game round - What's the difference between a game round and a game turn?
A game turn is the time during which one of the players performs actions within the scope of the game rules and actively intervenes in the game. A game round is the immediate succession of two game turns, where each of the two players is once the active and once the passive player.
-
Hand limit - How is my hand limit affected if I'm allowed to draw cards during my turn?
It is not affected at all.