FAQ: Variants & Scenarios
Subcategories
Variants & Scenarios
-
Enchanted Land – In the “Enchanted Land” scenario, may I move my knights past foreign game pieces?
No, on the enchanted island, a knight may move on a path without a road, but may not cross a knight, road or settlement of another player.
-
What happens with a metropolis adjacent to a volcano when the volcano erupts?
The metropolis is still a city – although a very large one. Maybe the barbarians stay clear of it, but lava doesn't. The metropolis is thus downgraded to a settlement. Afterwards, the player may immediately declare another city metropolis, or he gets the metropolis back when he builds the next city (that is, if another player hasn't built the metropolis in the meantime).
Frenemies
-
If I receive a favor token, do I have to place it face up or face down in front of me?
If you receive a favor token, you place it face down in front of you. However, you may view your favor tokens at any time to check which ones you have.
-
If I give a resource to an opponent for free, do I offer it to him openly or in a concealed fashion?
You offer the resource openly, e.g. by saying, “I'd like to give you 1 grain. Do you want to accept it?”
-
May I use a Monopoly to reclaim a resource I have given away?
Yes, although that wouldn't be a very friendly action.
-
On my turn, am I allowed to immediately use a favor token that I received due to an opponent's road building action during the preceding turn?
Yes. The only favor tokens you may not use immediately are those you have received by means of your own actions during your turn.
-
The German game rules state that a player may use or exchange favor tokens only once per turn, while the English rules do not include this restriction. What is correct?
Favor tokens may only be used or exchanged once per turn.
The Helpers of Catan
-
If Lin lures the robber into the desert, do I receive 1 resource even though I don't have a settlement or city adjacent to the terrain hex the robber occupied before?
It doesn't matter whether or not you or other players have a settlement or city adjacent to that terrain hex. You receive the resource because the robber runs off to the desert to spend some quality time with Lin until the next "7" is rolled.
-
After I have received Marianne, may I use her immediately on an opponent's next turn?
Yes, you may use Marianne immediately on the next turn.
-
Has this variant been published in English language?
This scenario will be released in August 2013 by Mayfair Games. Previously, the ten helper cards became the support cards in the “Star Trek Catan” edition.
-
How do I get rid of Marianne if I receive a resource for any number that can be rolled?
You only get rid of Marianne if one of your numbers is blocked by the robber when it is rolled, so that you receive a resource via Marianne.
-
If I keep a helper card after having used it for the first time, may I exchange it before using it a second time?
No. If you decided to keep the helper card after using it for the first time, you can't change your mind afterwards. After you have used the card a second time, you must exchange it.
-
If I use Candamir to choose a victory point development card, may I immediately reveal the card if it allows me to win the game?
It is irrelevant whether you obtain your final victory point via Candamir or via the normal procedure. If you have the victory points required to win the game, you reveal all your victory point cards - including the one you just received.
-
If I use Nassir, and none of my opponents has the resource I want, may I keep the card?
No.
-
Is Louis allowed to remove a road if the result is a settlement without road?
Yes.