
Possible Combinations of

“Traders and Barbarians”

with Other Expansions

Combinations with “Traders and Barbarians” scenarios

Barbarian Attack - Traders and Barbarians

● Playable. The possibility to use the Wagon for driving off barbarians can make the
combined scenario extremely nasty. It will be up to you to decide if you want to try
ridding the island of barbarians by employing your own Knights (and get Victory Points
by means of prisoners), if you want to accumulate Victory Points by using Wagons and
thus drive the barbarians located on your own routes to the hexes of your game partners
– or if it is possible for you to apply a mixed strategy. Rule changes to both scenarios
are required to make them playable as a combination. Rules that are identical for both
scenarios (e.g., in both scenarios there is no Robber) are not listed here.

● Changes to the set-up: The hexes are always placed according to the set-up of
“Barbarian Attack.” Remove 1 forest, 1 pasture, and the desert from the outer circle of
hexes, and replace them with the three trade hexes from “Traders & Barbarians.” The
marble quarry replaces the desert hex, the castle replaces the hex showing the number
token “12,” and the glassworks replaces the hex with token “2.” The castle hex from
“Barbarian Attack” goes to its usual place on the opposite side of the marble quarry.
The other hexes of the outer circle are placed at random. The set-up of the inner area
remains unchanged. Since the combined scenario includes the castle from “Traders &
Barbarians” as well as the castle hex from “Barbarian Attack,” below we will
distinguish between “castle” and “castle hex.”

● The glassworks and the castle have number tokens and thus are resource producing
hexes. The glassworks produces lumber, the castle produces wool. The marble quarry
does not produce resources.

Special Preparation:



● Place one barbarian on the castle and another one on the glassworks. Do not place any
other barbarians (i.e., do not place barbarians according to the Special Preparation rule
for “Traders & Barbarians”).

● Use the Development Cards from “Barbarian Attack“ for play, with the corresponding
rules for Development Cards. The Development Cards from “Traders & Barbarians” are
not required.

● The Special Victory Point Cards “Longest Road” and “Largest Army” are not included,
and neither is the Robber.

Rule changes to “Barbarian Attack:”

● If you place a barbarian on a coastal hex, the barbarian on this hex is assigned to a road
or a path, respectively. The barbarian thus stands on the hex and also next to a
road/path. The effects are explained in the rule changes to “Traders & Barbarians.”
Other than that, the
placement of the barbarians does not change the rules for “Barbarian Attack.” A normal
terrain hex has 6 paths, a trade hex 7.

● If you play a “Treason” card, the same procedure applies – you move the barbarians to a
hex and assign them to a road/path.

● Each road/path can be assigned to 1 barbarian only. (In the unlikely case that a
barbarian is placed on a hex where all paths – e.g. those coming from the adjacent hexes
– are already occupied by barbarians, place the barbarian at the center of the hex.) The
two barbarians initially placed on the “2” and “12” hexes are not assigned to a road/path
but placed at the center of the respective hexes. (This has no effect on the Commodity
Cards stored there.) If more barbarians are placed on these hexes later, they are assigned
to a road/path according to the above rules.

● If the castle or the glassworks is conquered by the barbarians, it only affects the
production and the Victory Points next to these hexes, not the acceptance or fulfillment
of commodity deliveries.

● If you use “Treason” or the Wagons, you may place barbarians also on hexes at the
center of the island.

● You may use “Treason“ or the Wagons to place a barbarian on any hex of your choice
(also at the center of the island). If possible, the barbarian must be assigned to a path or
road in these cases as well.

● Barbarians that were placed on center hexes by using “Treason” or a Wagon can be
defeated by Knights, just like barbarians on coastal hexes.

Rule changes to “Traders & Barbarians:”

● A “7” is rolled: Do not move a barbarian if a “7” is rolled. After checking the hand
limit, the active player may steal a card from the hand of a freely chosen game partner.

● Do not re-roll the dice if a “2” or “12” was rolled.



End of the game:

● The game ends when a player reaches a total of 14 or more Victory Points during his
turn.


