Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Here you find all frequently asked questions (FAQ) about our games. The questions and answers are divided into different subcategories which you can browse. If you don't see your question answered here, please ask us your question via e-mail.
Please note: Our FAQ area is still under construction.
Some random questions
Plunder - May I use the Traitor card to plunder or conquer a city with 2 towers if I have no warriors/horsemen in my tribe box?
- Plunder: Yes.
- Conquer: It is the first city conquered by this tribe, so you place the tribe waiting in front of the city wall on the city, together with a supply wagon from the tribe's box. Later in the game this will no longer be possible, because then conquering will require you to remove a warrior from your tribe's box.
Is it possible to purchase a settler during the build and trade phase, then load him onto a ship, move him, and then convert him into a settlement - all within one turn?
There is one general rule for the game:
* In the build and trade phase you can do things for which you need resources.
* In the movement phase you can do everything for which no resources are needed (exception: if you want to buy additional movement points, you need wool).
Therefore, you can discover a new island via settler ship and immediately convert the settler into a settlement, because you don't need resources for the latter. However, you cannot upgrade this settlement to a harbor settlement during the movement phase, because the upgrade would require resources.
In the village – which isn’t even close to a corner – you always can choose between both open paths. Remember that another adventurer figure is not an obstacle: various adventurer figures may be placed together on the same space.
General Questions - May I exchange the “3/4” experience marker with a “1/2” experience marker - for example, because towards the end of the game Prowess is more important to me than Charisma?
No, you are not allowed to move the experience markers on the character board.
Grove of Peace - How do the Grove of Peace, Heinrich the Sentinel, and the Lookout Tower act against the Archer, Arsonist, or Traitor?
The die is only rolled once.
The Archer, Arsonist, or Traitor is fended off by the following combinations of cards and numbers rolled:
- Grove of Peace / Heinrich: 3, 4, 5, and 6
- Grove of Peace / Lookout Tower: 1, 2, 4, 5 und 6
- Grove of Peace / Heinrich / Lookout Tower: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 und 6
- Grove of Peace / Robert, Herald of the Sages / Lookout Tower: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 und 6
Development Cards - Knight - When a Knight Card is played, do players with more than 7 Resource Cards also have to discard half of them?
No. This only applies when a “7” is rolled.
Note: Sages belong to the Age of Enlightenment expansion.
Discard pile - Is it permitted to view all cards in the discard pile, in order to determine which cards are still in play or to check which cards are in the discard pile before playing a card that allows you to retrieve a card from it?
- You may only examine your own discard pile if you play a card that allows you to take a card from the discard pile.
- You may only examine your opponent's discard pile if you play a card that allows you to take a card from your opponent's discard pile. Currently, Guido the Ambassador is the only card of this type.