FAQ: Catan Card Game (out of print)
Artisans & Benefactors
Traveling Theater - Is a resource trade deemed a trade with the bank in the sense of the Merchants’ Residences and the Master Merchant's Guildhall?
Note: The Merchants’ Residences and the Master Merchant's Guildhall belong to the theme set "Barbarian & Traders", which is part of the Catan Card Game – Expansion Set.
Village School - If I own the Windmill Token, do I get a star and a resource from my opponent, or just one of the two?
You get a resource from your game partner and a star.
No. The only risk is that he might be the first one to place Irmgard.
Special cards are cards which, on occasions such as the annual game fair in Essen/Germany, have been published in honor of Klaus Teuber's family or people who contributed to the success of the Catan games. Only 500 copies of each card have been printed, all of them signed by Klaus Teuber. Some of the motifs on these cards were painted by Klaus Teuber himself and others by Franz Vohwinkel - except for the last one, which was painted Franz Vohwinkel's colleague Klaus Scherwinski. These cards do not belong to the regular card pool, and both players or, if applicable, the organizers of a tournament must agree to include these cards in the game. The cards have been published in German only. Some of them can be downloaded from the Catan GmbH website.
The following cards have been published in the context of the old Card Game:
Johanna, die Kriegerin (Johanna the Warrior-Maiden), published in 2002. The card could only be downloaded by players who finished the Prof. Easy Tutorial for the Card Game, and it is the only card that comes in two versions.
The text on version 1 for the base game and the expanded base game read as follows:
Each knight of your opponent is worth 1 strength point less. Requires: Church.
Version 2 - which was also printed for the expanded base game with Science & Progress and the Tournament Game - displayed a different text:
Each of your opponent's Cannon is only worth 2 strength points. Johanna is immune against Lady Imelda and Bribery. Requires: Church, and no Citadel.
In 2003 the card was added to the new Barbarians & Traders Theme Set (English version published in 2006), and its effect was extended to the Dragons of the Wizards & Dragons Theme Set.
Guido, der große Diplomat (Guido the Great Diplomat), published in 2003:
If your opponent has more victory points than you and you play this card at the beginning of your turn (before rolling the dice), retrieve the topmost attack action card in the opponent's discard pile. May not be targeted by the Spy.
In 2006, the card was slightly changed and added to the new Artisans & Benefactors Theme Set (English version published in 2009), and in 2010 - again slightly changed - the card was included as Guido the Ambassador in The Rivals for Catan.
Benjamin, der treue Vasall (Benjamin the Loyal Vassal), published in 2004:
You once more receive the resource of each region whose number you rolled at the beginning of your turn.
In 2010 the card was included as Benjamin the Traveling Scholar in The Rivals for Catan.
Irmgard, Bewahrerin des Lichts (Irmgard, Keeper of the Light), published in 2005:
If your opponent plays a Merchant or successfully plays the Brigands card, you receive any 1 resource of your choice.
In 2010, after changing its function the card was included in The Rivals for Catan.
Emi'Ly, Bewahrerin der Harmonie (Emi'Ly, Keeper of Harmony), published in 2006:
You may repeat each of your production die rolls exactly one time. If you roll an odd number, you draw Emi'Ly into your hand or pay 1 gold.
Arnd, der findige Knappe (Arnd, the resourceful Squire), published in 2007:
Place a knight on this card. Both cards now count as one knight unit and are protected against Lady Imelda, Civil War, and Bribery. If the knight is removed, Arnd is placed on the discard pile.
Gustav und Reiner, Helfer der Ratlosen (Gustav and Reiner, Helper of the Helpless), published in 2008:
If you have at least 3 victory points less than your opponent, you may immediately start another turn.
Franz vohm Winkel, published in 2009:
Pay the building costs and place this card on a Church. Both cards together are worth 2 victory points. If the Church is removed, Franz is also lost.