Influence Card – Action “Place Border” - May the action “Place borders” also be used to annex parts of a neutral zone?
No, that’s only possible with the action “Expand your Domain.”
Influence Card – Action “Place Knights” - According to the game rules, “an extra gold” must be paid when placing a knight on forest territories. Does “gold” mean a ducat?
1 copper colored ducat must be paid. It happens to be a mistake that the rule refers to gold in this case.
Influence Card – Action “Place Knights” - If I play a “2 Knights” action card, may I build only 1 knight?
Yes, you may build only 1 knight.
Influence Card – Action “Place Knights” - May knights be placed on open territories (territories outside Domains), in accordance with what the rule says about placing knights adjacent to one’s own castle/knight?
Yes. You only have to observe the placement rules (place the knight on a meadow or forest territory that is horizontally or vertically adjacent to your own knight/castle).
Influence Card – Action “Place Knights” - Why do I have to pay a ducat for a knight on a forest? I can’t see any advantage I could get from a knight on a forest.
It serves the purpose of providing the game with more strategic variety: when you build a castle, having to pay for the knight obliges you to check whether there are cost-effective neighboring places for knights.
Influence Cards - General - If an action card containing various actions (e.g., 2 expansions, 3 borders) is played, when are the actions scored: right after implementing each action or, as indicated in the game rules, at the end of the turn?
The consequences of playing an action card become effective immediately after each implemented action: the score is marked on the scoring track at the end of the turn.
Influence Cards - General - May I use a multiple-expansion / multiple-knight action card for exactly 1 or for various of my Domains (the latter meaning that I may split up the actions)?
The multiple-expansion card must be used for exactly 1 Domain (although you may expand at two different places in a Domain, by 1 space each); the multiple-knight card actions may also be split up.
If it is impossible to observe the distance of 6 territories demanded by the rule, the distance is reduced to 5 territories for this particular castle. The rule demanding a distance of 6 territories still applies - if possible - to the other players' castles.
This rule applies to the players’ castles as well as to the neutral player’s castles used in the 2-player game.
The neutral castles in the 2-player variant serve the purpose of restricting the space for the two players.