The official website for The Settlers of Catan

Question about “Traders & Barbarians” Expansion Barbarian Attack - Once a knight development card is played and a knight is placed at the castle hex, can the player immediately move the knight away from the castle hex or does he/she need to wait one full turn before moving the knight?

Answer

A knight placed at the castle hex must be moved immediately; to do this, however, you have to wait until the end of your turn. You can move your knights after you have finished trading and/or building. Knights you just placed at the castle hex must be moved.