The official website for The Settlers of Catan

Question about The “Age of Darkness” Expansion Master of the Brotherhood - Do I have to pay gold if my opponent has placed the Master of the Brotherhood and I want to play an Arsonist against his Trading Station?

Answer

Playing the Arsonist is initially meant as a general attack against the opponent's buildings, without targeting any specific building. Therefore, gold must be paid whenever the opponent has other buildings besides the Trading Station.