The official website for The Settlers of Catan

Question about Artisans & Benefactors St. Agatha’s Chapel - I placed the Chapel and Irmgard. My opponent plays a Merchant or Brigands card. Do I now receive 2 resources now?

Answer

Yes. With each Merchant your opponent plays, and with each of his successfully played Brigands cards, you receive any 2 resources of your choice from the bank. If he plays a Spice Caravan, only the Chapel earns you a resource.

Note: Irmgard the Keeper of the Light is a Special Card, which can only be used when both players agree, or the use of the card is allowed by the tournament organization.