The official website for The Settlers of Catan

Question about Artisans & Benefactors Riots - I have a Merchant Outpost. The event “Riots” occurs, and I can’t avert it with the help of a star. Do I receive 1 resource for my Merchant Outpost if the number of an adjacent region is rolled?

Answer

No. This is an income obtained by rolling the production die; therefore, it is affected by the Riots.

Note: The Merchant Outpost belongs to the theme set "Barbarian & Traders", which is part of the Catan Card Game – Expansion Set.