The official website for The Settlers of Catan

Question about Barbarians & Traders Barbarian Stronghold - Do I have to pay gold for defense cards too?

Answer

  • If you are the active player: yes - e.g. for Scout and Feeding of the Poor
  • If you are the passive player: no - e.g. for the Bishop.

Note: The Feeding of the Poor action card belongs to the Artisans & Benefactors Expansion Set. On the card, the card is classified as "neutrel", this is an error. The card belongs to the class "Defense"