The official website for The Settlers of Catan

Question about “Traders & Barbarians” Expansion I don’t understand the rule regarding the “orientation” pairs of paths adjacent to the castle hex. How do they determine which knights are removed?

Answer

After a victory over the barbarians, one of the involved players rolls a die and places it in the center of the castle hex. Each of the 6 edges of the castle hex is marked with a different die roll result. The number rolled determines one of the three possible “orientation” pairs of paths adjacent to the castle hex: the path adjacent to the edge marked with the number rolled and the path adjacent to the edge on the opposite side.

Check each knight involved in the victory. If the path that the knight is on has the same orientation as one of the two paths on the castle hex determined by the die roll, remove that knight from the board.