The official website for The Settlers of Catan

Question about “Cities & Knights” Expansion Barbarians I: Course of the Battle - Do I deactivate all knights or only those that participated in the battle against the barbarians?

Answer

  • If you play according to the basic rule for Cities & Knights: All active knights participate in the battle; therefore, they all are deactivated.
  • If you play the variant for “meanies,” each player decides which of his knights participates in the battle, and they are the only ones that are deactivated after the battle.