The official website for The Settlers of Catan

Question about “Seafarers” Expansion Gold Fields - In a scenario with islands, do I earn a victory point when settling islands consisting only of gold fields, or is no extra victory point awarded in this case?

Answer

That depends entirely on the respective scenario. In scenarios with foreign islands, each player who places his first settlement on a foreign island receives two special victory points (according to the reformed rule). This rule also applies if a foreign island consists only of gold fields.