The official website for The Settlers of Catan

Question about Starship Catan Trade Module - May I use a Level I Trade Module and a Level II Trade Module during the same turn?

Answer

The Level II Trade Module continues to be the same starship improvement as the Level I Trade Module. Upgrading a Module from Level I to Level II does not mean that you have something different now but that you can make better use of the logistics, communication, or whatever else the effect of the improved capacities of this Module may be. Therefore, using the Level I Trade Module and the Level II Trade Module on the same turn would mean that you are using the same Module a second time – however, each Module may only be used ONCE per turn.