The official website for The Settlers of Catan

Question about Base Game Seven and Robber - After rolling a “7,” can I still trade with another player or blackmail him before moving the robber?

Answer

  • Trading: No.
  • Blackmailing: Yes. On Catan, people are allowed to talk to each other at any time. Therefore, even if it is not their trade and build phase, all players are free to make offers for future bargains, and if they see fit, they may also blackmail and threaten other players. However, all this can only be put into action after the consequences of the dice roll are resolved. You can’t perform trades to reduce the number of your resources to 7 or fewer before resolving the consequences of the “7.”